This was originally going to be a very different post. I thought I had an idea for the greatest app ever. I was going to design it, my friend was going to code it. But a few days ago he texted me and told me to google Supercook. Well, there went my brilliant idea. I thought making an app like Supercook would be incredibly useful for someone living alone on a tight budget. I guess part of me is grateful that someone else made it, because now I can use it!

So I started to think of something similar that would be equally useful. It seems like apps can do literally any thing these days, so I’m just assuming someone could make this work…

The hardest part of a project? Getting started. It’s like writing a paper. But once you have that first paragraph or first page, it seems a little less scary. That’s my problem with doing things around my apartment. Right now, I want to go across the street and go buy a baby Christmas tree, but before that I need to get a stand for it, and before that…I need to finish all of the homework I have for the end of the semester.

This app is made for people like me, who are really lazy about initiating a new project and actually doing the research they need…and setting aside the time they need instead of plopping down on the futon and watching SVU for hours at a time…SO IMAGINE SOMETHING THAT COULD DO THIS ALL FOR YOU! It’s like the Sims…but in real life.

app-1app-2

So here’s how it works. You have a lot of blank wall space, and you’re not sure what to do with it. With this app, you take pictures of the space you want to work on (In this case I drew the view of my room from the futon), enter the measurements for the space you want to work with, the price range, and the tools you have. Based on this information, the app acts as a search engine and finds DIY projects that meet your criteria. You can save multiple projects in the app and come back to them later.

The only thing I don’t like about it is I feel like I’m cheating on Martha Stewart or something. Look at that beautiful face.

martha-stewart-cover-ftr
Image from Parade.com

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

