Good Crafts Go Bad

It’s finally that time of year: cold, dark, and rainy. Or, as cold as it can get in this town with global warming. If you’re like me, all you want to do is brood, lay in bed, and watch TV. It’s very hard to be productive, which is probably why I have yet to re-attempt those yarn pompoms. I did however, come up with the simplest DIY project known to man. I put some inspirational quotes on some sticky notes, and put them on my wall. Whenever I get sad, I look at them. Sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn’t. But it’s going to be an ongoing project, and once I have more time I’ll be adding on to it, and maybe replacing the sticky notes with something more sophisticated.

But anyway, having all of this yarn around got me thinking…what if I just yarn bomb my apartment? I never stuck with knitting, I tried to learn how to crochet but failed horribly, and who knows if I’ll ever make those freaking pompoms. It wouldn’t be quite yarn bombing, because for that you have to be good at knitting and crocheting. But something similar, maybe like something you see in exhibition art at a museum. Or something you could hang your earrings on, because I don’t think there’s a structure known to man that can comfortably fit all of my earrings.

There are so many cool things that pop up when you type yarn art on Pinterest. I’d be very happy if I was a yarn artist. In fact, I have a whole corner of my apartment with nothing on it, so maybe I’ll put a bunch of yarn art there!

Now, this probably comes from watching X-Files way too much, but I did take some yarn and make a little friend…he stars in his own movie below.

This is the first film I’ve made since 7th grade. I’d like to think of it as a cross between art and horror. Fear the yarn monster, my friends.

Leave a Reply

