Let’s Talk About Pom Poms

Over the past few years, there’s been a movement to declutter our lives and our spaces. Websites, apps, and homes are looking more and more minimal. I see fashion bloggers that have about two items in their room: a bed and a clothing rack. There might be a lamp and some books or something, and the walls and ceiling are usually white. Is this real life? Maybe not, maybe it’s a studio or something. But either way, I always get really jealous and wish my room looked like that. So clean, so elegant.

bedroom
From mydomaine.com, Lisa Cohen and Mark Roper for Robson Rak Architects

I’ve taken part in the decluttering movement. I’ve gotten rid of clothes, furniture, and random objects that I really don’t need. But for whatever reason…my room never looks like this. Not even close.

Starting sometime in middle school, I thought it would be a good idea to cover as much wall space as possible with posters, artwork, what have you. I did a pretty good job of it, except what resulted was you couldn’t really tell if a 16-year-old girl lived there or a 12-year-old boy. The only giveaway was the girly Pottery Barn furniture. It looked fine, but it felt thrown together, sort of like a collage.

I love collages, and I’ve loved making them for as long as I can remember. Even now I’ll get together with my friends, grab a pile of magazines, and go to town. My love for collages is reflected in my everyday life. As much as I try to deny it, I love things, and I love stuff. Until I can make my room look like the photo above, I suppose I have to embrace that.

I got an e-mail from apartments.com, which had links to some super easy DIY projects. I decided to find the easiest one…something I could do while watching mindless TV.

Here are instructions to make pom pom garlands. Easy right? She suggests using them for a baby’s room, or a bridal shower. Neither one of those items are in my near future, but I thought they might make a nice addition to my apartment in keeping up with the whole collage aesthetic. Maybe they will contribute to sound proofing? There are some random hooks in the ceiling that have been there since I’ve moved in, so I was going to hang them. Not only would they be a nice decoration to look at, but they could be an activity as well!

I went to my mom’s house to pick out a bunch of crazy yarns from the never ending yarn collection she has. Leave it to me to screw up something incredibly simple.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I think the cardboard is too thick. I think the hole in the middle is too small. There is too much yarn.

Stay tuned.

 

 

Leave a Reply

