I’ve discussed before how I’m on a journey to enjoy being in my new home and being by myself. It’s still hard! Especially on the days where all I really do is go to school and come home. I work out two or three times a week, but I’m still searching for a hobby that takes up more time than that.

What does one do when they find themselves staring at the wall/TV/phone/computer screen for an extended period of time? GO OUTSIDE. I’ve literally had to make myself do this, because even if I go out for just an hour, it usually makes me feel better. The only way for me to shut my brain up is to move.

Fixing my camera will cost me about $130, which is…more than the value of the camera. But luckily I was able to get the card out and transfer these pictures from a few weeks ago.

Look for the cute quirky things.

I have no idea who made these, or if they were for something in particular…but I find them very charming.

Glorify the mundane.

All of these photos were taken without much thought, and pretty quickly too, since I didn’t want anyone to think I was stalking their house or something. If anyone is familiar with the work of Stephen Shore, you know he became very famous for taking pictures of some of the most uninteresting things known to man. The photos had no redeeming qualities either…both the subject matter and the photos themselves are horribly boring. So I’m paying homage to him here.

Appreciate the foliage.

Look at the cool cars. 

Look at the old and the new.

When you’re enclosed by several off-white walls for most of the day, it’s important to see what’s outside. I had no idea I lived just a few blocks away from a park! And where there’s a park, there are cute dogs to pet. If I’m ever feeling coordinated, there are some tennis courts I can play on. I’ve been wanting to go out and forage for some flowers that I could use to brighten up my home. It’s an activity I can do for free, and pretty much any time I want. Except at night, because there are clowns out there.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

