One of the great things about having your parents in the same city is being able to enlist their help with home improvement. This past weekend, they broke out the power tools and moved my TV from its place on an empty box to the wall. So now, not only can I watch TV from my bed which is really dangerous, but I can also watch the X Files until the wee hours of the morning, which at some point will probably give me nightmares. But I find the show strangely soothing.

Not only is my TV on the wall, but they replaced my shower head as well, with a BRAND NEW ONE that is taller than I am. It’s amazing. I don’t have to limbo to wash my hair. I’m basically living in the playboy mansion.

My mom bought me some nice little cube shelves that I’ve put in the space between the kitchen and my bedroom. They’re housing some excess coffee mugs and some decorations, such as the little monster I painted at Cafe Monet. We also got two blue chairs for the patio, so I can now fit a grand total of three people out there!

I only have one box left, and it currently houses my shin guards, punching gloves, etc. I need to find a creative way to display those, so I can instill fear in anyone that walks in.

One thing I’ve quickly learned about living here is how imperative it is to keep everything organized, and clean. I could get away with being messy a whole lot more when I was living in a one bedroom back in 2015. When you live in a studio, you see EVERYTHING from everywhere. You see the bathroom and bedroom and living room from the kitchen. You see the kitchen and living room from your bedroom. And since you haven’t gotten around to buying a second trash can yet, you have one tiny trash can, and have to take out the trash every other day because you DON’T want roaches. Or any bugs.

I’ve spent the past year or two getting rid of a lot of things I don’t need, so there isn’t a whole lot of clutter in my 415 square foot home…meaning I can see everything I need to clean. 🙂 And although I’m living as a bachelorette, I do have many housewifely qualities-I love to bake, I can sew, and I really like to clean. I find it very therapeutic…and isn’t that what starting over is all about?

Here are two articles I’ve found about living in a small space:

This guy’s place is about 40 square feet.

Here is an interesting article about fictional New York City apartments, and how they’re becoming more realistic.

Leave a Reply

